PCB announces final team for England tour

Pakistan, coronavirus, PCB, England Tour
Lahore: Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Saturday announced the final names included in the team that will tour England in August 2020 for cricket series.

The new team includes Azhar Ali (skipper) Babar Azam (vice captain) Abid Ali, Asad Shafiq, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Iftikhar Ahmad, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Ha, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Abbas, Musa Khan, Naseem Shah, Roahil Nazir, Sarfraz Ahmed, Shaheen Shah, Shan Masood, Sohail Khan, Usman Shinwari, Yasir Shah, said the cricketing body on Twitter.

The 20 players and 11 match officials will leave for England tour on June 28 and it will reach Birmingham and will undergo 14-days quarantine in Worcester before traveling to Derbyshire on July 13 to step up its training. A series compring two Test matches and three T20s will be played between the two teams. 

They will play their first Test against the home side in Manchester from August 05.

The second and third Test will be played in Southampton. Three-matches T20I series will be played from August 28 to September 01 in Southampton.

Coronavirus Test of Players

In a positive news, all 18 players and 11 player support personnel, who had tested negative for Covid-19 in the first round of tests on Monday, have again returned negative in Thursday’s retests.

Besides the 29 members, tests of fast bowler Musa Khan and Pakistan U19 captain and wicketkeeper Rohail Nazir, along with three other reserve players, were also conducted on Thursday and they have also returned negative.

Following advice from leading sports science experts and as per the UK government regulations, players who have tested positive during the PCB testing process will be unable to travel on Sunday.

However, they will be sent to England as soon as their two tests return negative.

Amongst the four reserves players, who were tested on Wednesday, only Imran Butt has tested positive, while the tests of Bilal Asif, Mohammad Nawaz and Musa Khan were negative.

Out of the 10 players and one official, who had earlier tested positive during the PCB testing programme, six players have tested negative in the retests. They are: Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Rizwan, Shadab Khan and Wahab Riaz.

Players who have again tested positive are: Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Kashif Bhatti and Imran Khan, along with Malang Ali (masseur).

The six players who have now tested negative will undergo third round of testing at some stage next week and if their tests remain negative, then the PCB will make arrangements to send them to England.