Baber Azam records quickest 1000 Twenty20I runs

Baber Azam breaks Virat Kohli record of quickest 1000 Twenty20I runs
Dubai: Pakistan defeated New Zealand by 47 runs in the third and final Twenty20 International in Dubai Dubai International Cricket Stadium in UAE on Sunday night.

Pakistan were lifted to 166-3 by Babar Azam who made a 58-ball 79 with seven boundaries and two sixes while Mohammad Hafeez hit a 34-ball 53 with four boundaries and two sixes.

Babar Azam and Mohammad Hafeez struck the 50s as Pakistan posted 166/3 against New Zealand in the third and final Twenty20.

Babar Azam has overtaken Virat Kohli’s record to become the fastest batsman to score 1,000 runs in T20.

Azam achieved the feat during Pakistan’s match against New Zealand in Dubai. He has scored 1,000 runs in 26 innings.

The victory gave world number one ranked Pakistan their 7th consecutive win since July and 15th in 17 T20 internationals this year.

Earlier, Pakistan beat New Zealand by six wickets in the second Twenty20 international in Dubai on Friday to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series.

Since Sarfraz Ahmed took over as captain in September 2016, Pakistan have beaten England (1-0), West Indies (3-0 and 3-1), a World XI (2-1), Sri Lanka (3-0), New Zealand (2-1), West Indies (3-0), Scotland (2-0), and Australia (3-0).

They also won a tri-series against Zimbabwe and Australia this year.