Google changes privacy setting to keep less user data

Google changes privacy setting to keep less user data
Google on Wednesday announced privacy improvements to help users more secure their data.

The tech giant announced changes to its data retention practices across the core products to keep less data by default.

It further said that the company has three principles while handling the data: keeping your information safe, treating it responsibly, and putting you in control.

“Starting today, the first time you turn on Location History—which is off by default—your auto-delete option will be set to 18 months by default. Web & App Activity auto-delete will also default to 18 months for new accounts. This means your activity data will be automatically and continuously deleted after 18 months, rather than kept until you choose to delete it. You can always turn these settings off or change your auto-delete option”.

“If you’ve already had Location History and Web & App Activity turned on, we won’t be changing your settings. But we will actively remind you about the auto-delete controls through in-product notifications and emails, so you can choose the auto-delete setting that works for you,” read the official blog.

The change comes after Google added new controls last year that allow users to effectively put an expiry date on their data, by providing the option to auto-delete location history, search, voice and YouTube activity data after three or 18 months.

Last year, the tech giant had introduced auto-delete controls, which give users the choice to have Google automatically and continuously delete their Location History, search, voice and YouTube activity data after 3 months or 18 months.