Connect with us


NA Speaker accepts resignation of 11 PTI lawmakers

The resignation will be sent to the Election Commission of Pakistan



NA Speaker accepts resignation of 11 PTI lawmakers
GNN Media: Representational Photo

Islamabad: Speaker National Assembly Raja Pervez Ashraf on Thursday accepted the resignations of 11 legislators of PTI.

According to the spokesperson of the National Assembly, the notification of acceptance of resignations has been issued by the National Assembly Secretariat.

The spokesperson said the Speaker accepted the resignations under Clause (1) of Article 64 of the Constitution, adding the notification of the resignations would be sent to the Election Commission of Pakistan.

He said the PTI members of the National Assembly had resigned from their seats on April 11.

Among the members whose resignations have been accepted are Ali Muhammad Khan, Fazal Muhammad Khan, Shaukat Ali, Fakhar Zaman Khan, Farrukh Habib, Ijaz Shah, Jameel Ahmad Khan, Akram Cheema, Shireen Mazari, Shandana Gulzar and Abdul Shakur Shad.

The resignations of 3 members of PTI have been accepted from Sindh province, while the resignations of Shireen Mazari and Shandana Gulzar Khan have been accepted on certain seats.

Letters have already been issued to 131 resigned PTI members by the Speaker to confirm their resignations.