Connect with us


PSL 9: Islamabad United beat Karachi Kings by seven wickets

It was the first out 15th matches of Pakistan Super League (PSL) Season 9 which was played at National Bank Stadium in Karachi on Wednesday night.



PSL 9: Islamabad United beat Karachi Kings by seven wickets
GNN Media: Representational Photo

Karachi: Islamabad United  on Wednesday secured a convincing victory over Karachi Kings by seven wickets in the 15th match of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) Season 9, held at the National Bank Stadium.

The clash marked the inaugural match of PSL Season 9 hosted at the Karachi Stadium, drawing a substantial crowd of cricket enthusiasts eager to witness the season's opening encounter.

Opting to bat first, Karachi Kings set a competitive target of 166 runs for Islamabad United, showcasing a spirited performance. Despite Kieron Pollard's impressive unbeaten knock of 48 runs from 28 balls, the Kings struggled to capitalize fully, with other batsmen, including captain Shan Masood, failing to anchor the innings effectively.

In response, Islamabad United exhibited a formidable display, successfully chasing down the target with three wickets to spare. Colin Munro emerged as the standout performer of the match, commanding the innings with a stellar 82 runs off 47 balls, steering his team towards victory. Supported by Alex Hales' notable contribution of 47 runs from 35 balls, Islamabad United maintained a steady momentum throughout the chase.

Agha Salman's unbeaten 25 runs off 17 balls further bolstered Islamabad United's pursuit of the target. Captain Shadab Khan also played a crucial role, adding 10 runs from 11 balls to secure the team's triumph. Ultimately, Islamabad United set a formidable target of 170 runs for Karachi Kings, clinching a resounding victory in the enthralling encounter.

Playing XIs:

Karachi Kings: Shan Masood (c), Tim Seifert (wk), Leus du Plooy, Shoaib Malik, Kieron Pollard, Mohammad Nawaz, Muhammad Irfan Khan, Hasan Ali, Mir Hamza, Tabrazi Shamsi, Mohammad Amir Khan

Islamabad United: Alex Hales, Colin Munro, Salman Ali Agha, Shadab Khan (c), Azam Khan (wk), Jordan Cox, Imad Wasim, Faheem Ashraf, Naseem Shah, Hunain Shah, Rumman Raees