Connect with us


Pakistan win T20I series against Ireland by 2-1

Shaheen Afridi emerges as man of the match while Babar Azam and Rizwan scored half centuries to help their side win the target of 179 runs set by Ireland in the third match of the three-match T20I series



Pakistan win T20I series against Ireland by 2-1
GNN Media: Representational Photo

Dublin: After beating Ireland in the third T20I match, Pakistan won the three-match series on Tuesday.  Pakistan won two matches while the hosts could secure victory in just one match. 

In the third match,  Shaheen Shah Afridi's dominant bowling display, complemented by swift half-centuries from Mohammad Rizwan and Babar Azam, secured Pakistan's six-wicket victory over Ireland in Dublin.

Despite a spirited 73 off 41 balls from stand-in skipper Lorcan Tucker, Ireland posted a competitive total of 178. However, Babar and Rizwan effortlessly chased down the target, capitalizing on Ireland's lackluster bowling and fielding performances.

Electing to bowl after winning the toss, Pakistan's disciplined opening overs, led by Shaheen and Mohammad Amir, set the tone. Shaheen's impeccable yorkers, particularly effective, dismantled Ireland's batting order, restricting them to a mere 49 runs in the last seven overs.

Although Saim Ayub's early dismissal was a setback for Pakistan, Rizwan and Babar seized control of the chase. Babar, in particular, showcased his power-hitting prowess, capitalizing on dropped catches to steer Pakistan towards victory with a rapid 75 off 42 balls.


Ireland: Mark Adair, Ross Adair, Andrew Balbirnie, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Graham Hume, Neil Rock, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker (c & wk), Ben White, Craig Young

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Saim Ayub, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Fakhar Zaman, Azam Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Shaheen Afridi, Hassan Ali, Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir

One change for Pakistan. Hasan Ali comes in place of Naseem Shah