Two Senators form Punjab elected unopposed

Two Senate candidates from Punjab have been elected un-opposed. According to the Election Commission of Pakistan, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Barrister Ali Zafar and Pakistani Muslim League (PML-N) candidate Azam Nazeer Tarar have made their way to Senate unopposed.


According to GNN, no third candidate had submitted his nomination papers against the two technocrat seats from Punjab.

Total 21 candidates were believed eligible to contest Senate elections whereas papers of 2 candidates, including PML-N’s Pervaiz Rasheed were rejected.

As per ECP, the notification of the successful candidates will be issued later whereas appeals against the rejected nomination papers would be heard from tomorrow.

The ECP had earlier rejected nomination papers PML-N candidate Pervaiz Rasheed for being a defaulter of Punjab House in Islamabad and accepted the nomination papers of former premier Yousuf Raza Gilani.

More From Pakistan