PTI to celebrate Daska by-poll victory after official announcement from ECP

Daska: Leaders of the incumbent Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) government on Sunday claimed to win by-election in NA-75 constituency but will wait for official announcement of results by the ECP to celebrate their win.

A joint press conference in Daska was held by PTI ministers and leaders including Fawad Chaudhry, Shibli Faraz, Firdous Ashiq Awan and Usman Dar in which they claimed to secure victory in by-poll by a clear margin.

Information Minister Shibli Faraz claimed asserted that PML-N has decided that they would now win all elections at ‘gunpoint’. PML-N Leader Rana Sanaullah was behind the firing incident that took place during Friday’s by-poll which claimed the lives of two people. “After failure of their supreme leader Nawaz Sharif’s narrative, PML-N had resorted to such tactics,” he added.  

PML-N leaders including Rana Sanaullah, Mian Javed Latif along others were present in Daska to create unrest in the area.

Speaking on the occasion, Science and Technology Minister Fawad Chaudhry said PTI candidate Ali Asjad Malhi has clearly won the Daska by-poll and they will celebrate the election victory after the official announcement by ECP. The Ministry said that the government is going to ask ECP for holding the next elections electronically.

While asking PML-N to accept its defeat, he said, “We did not spill rigging allegations after PTI was defeated in Karachi, Nowshera and Wazirabad by-election” Fawad said there is no point of holding re-election in Daska and demanded ECP to immediately announce the election results.

Punjab government spokesperson Dr Firdous Ashiq Awan said PTI candidate had consecutively been winning elections in the same constituency since 2013 and PML-N by bogus controversies is trying to make by-election and ECP controversial.

Usman Dar while speaking to media said the morale of the PML-N has been wrecked but such low was not expected from the largest opposition party. An attempt is being made to establish that PTI have martyred the workers but “We ourselves have attended the funeral of the workers whereas these people (PML-N leaders) have been hiding their faces.”

Dar said that not a single polling agent could come forward to claim that they were thrown out of the polling station whereas Rana Sanaullah came to Daska with armed groups.

Earlier, PML-N’s Maryam Nawaz while addressing a public gathering in Daska had demanded the ECP to order re-election on all polling stations of NA-75 constituency.

It is important to mention here that in the by-elections on Friday, PTI was defeated in two of the four constituencies where elections were held. By-elections were held for PP-51 Gujranwala-I, NA-75 Sialkot NA-45 Kurram-I and PK-63 Nowshera seats.

More From Pakistan