Connect with us


ICC T20 World Cup 2024: South Africa beat Bangladesh by four runs

Bangladesh fought well for the victory till the last ball of the match but failed to chase the target at Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York



ICC T20 World Cup 2024: South Africa beat Bangladesh by four runs
GNN Media: Representational Photo

New York: South Africa narrowly defeated Bangladesh by four runs in their third match of the T20 World Cup 2024, held at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York on Monday.

Both teams had shaky starts to their innings. South Africa's bowlers dominated early, leaving Bangladesh struggling at 50-4 in 9.5 overs. Tanzid Hasan (9 off 9), Najmul Hossain Shanto (14 off 23), Liton Das (9 off 13), and Shakib Al Hasan (3 off 4) were quickly sent back to the pavilion.

However, Mahmudullah and Towhid Hridoy's 44-run partnership provided some stability. Hridoy played a commendable knock of 37 off 34 under challenging conditions before being dismissed by Kagiso Rabada. Mahmudullah remained unbeaten till the final over but couldn't secure a win as Bangladesh ended at 109-7.

Earlier, South Africa set a target of 114 runs for Bangladesh. Tanzim Hasan Sakib spearheaded Bangladesh's bowling attack, dismissing Reeze Hendricks (0) and Quinton de Kock (18 off 11) early on. Proteas captain Aiden Markram was clean-bowled by Taskin Ahmed for just four runs, and Tristan Stubbs fell for a duck.

David Miller and Heinrich Klaasen then formed a vital 79-run partnership to steer South Africa to a respectable total. Klaasen scored a valuable 46 before being dismissed by Taskin, while Miller contributed 29 runs. South Africa finished their innings at 113-6.

For Bangladesh, Tanzim Hasan took three wickets, Taskin Ahmed claimed two, and Rishad Hossain secured one wicket. Despite a valiant effort, Bangladesh fell short by just four runs.   




South Africa: 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 Reeza Hendricks, 3 Aiden Markram (capt), 4 Heinrich Klaasen, 5 David Miller, 6 Tristan Stubbs, 7 Marco Jansen, 8 Keshav Maharaj, 9 Kagiso Rabada, 10 Anrich Nortje, 11Ottneil Baartman

Bangladesh: 1 Tanzid Hasan, 2 Litton Das (wk), 3 Najmul Hossain Shanto (capt), 4 Towhid Hridoy, 5 Shakib Al Hasan, 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Jaker Ali, 8 Rishad Hossain, 9 Tanzim Hasan, 10 Taskin Ahmed 11 Mustafizur Rahman