Lahore Qalandars, Islamabad United to lock horns as PSL6 resumes

Lahore Qalandars, Islamabad United to lock horns as PSL6 resumes in UAE today Lahore Qalandars, Islamabad United to lock horns as PSL6 resumes in UAE today

Dubai: After weeks of uncertainties, the remaining matches of Pakistan Super League's (PSL) 6th edition will begin in United Arab Emirates (UAE) today.

Fans are anticipating a thrilling match as Lahore Qalandars and Islamabad United will be locking horns in Abu Dhabi.

The PSL 6 is all set to recommence after a three-month gap, starting at 09:00 pm as per Pakistan’ Standard Time.

The event to be held in Abu Dhabi is not something new, as initial seasons were held in UAE due to security reasons. Many superstar International cricketers will be a part of tournament, as it is T20 World Cup year, which may also be held in UAE due to coronavirus situation in India.

The spinners will play the most important part in the event, as the pitches in UAE are on the slower side. Quetta Gladiators will be happy with that, as they had success in first few seasons because of their spinners and slow left-arm orthodox bowlers. They have some batsmen in their side who are better against spin, so they would be looking to make a comeback after losing 4 of the first 5 matches in Pakistan.

Lahore Qalandars were also given a boost when Rashid Khan sacrificed his contract in England T20 Blast and chose to play PSL. He may also have that reason like other International cricketers, who want to experience the pitches of UAE.

Moreover, there is a chance that IPL, the league with most money, also set to complete in UAE.

The points table looks interesting, as Peshawar, Karachi, Islamabad and Lahore have 3 wins each. All of these teams could top the points table. Nobody can rule out Quetta and Multan as well, because if they can manage to win 3 games on a trot, they will be back in the contention as well.

Lahore Qalandars

Sohail Akhtar (capt), Ahmed Danyal, Ben Dunk, Callum Ferguson, Dilbar Hussain, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, James Faulkner, Maaz Khan, Mohammad Faizan, Mohammad Hafeez, Shakib al Hasan, Salman Ali Agha, Seekuge Prasana, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sultan Ahmed (replaces Joe Burns), Tim David, Zaid Alam, Zeeshan Ashraf.

Islamabad United

Shadab Khan (capt), Ahmed Saifi Abdullah, Ali Khan, Akif Javed, Asif Ali, Colin Munro, Fawad Ahmed, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Hussain Talat, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Mohammad Akhlaq, Musa Khan, Rohail Nazir, Usman Khawaja, Zafar Gohar, Zeeshan Zameer.

More From Sports