Connect with us


ICC T20 World Cup 2024: South Africa beat Nepal by one run in thrilling clash

South Africa had set 116-run target for Nepal which fought well but fell short of just one-run while chasing it at Antigua ground today



ICC T20 World Cup 2024: South Africa beat Nepal by one run in thrilling clash
GNN Media: Representational Photo

Antigua: South Africa secured a narrow victory over Nepal by one run in a thrilling 31st match of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 on Saturday.

The 31st match of the T20 World Cup, organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) and hosted in the USA and West Indies, saw Nepal winning the toss and opting to field against South Africa. The exciting contest unfolded at the Arnos Vale Cricket Stadium in Kingstown.

South Africa's Quinton de Kock and Reeza Hendricks opened the batting after Nepal's decision to field first. De Kock, a left-handed batsman, was dismissed after scoring just 10 runs, while Hendricks impressed with a solid 43 runs.

Following the early dismissal of two wickets, captain Aiden Markram attempted to stabilize the innings but was bowled out for 15 runs. Contributions from Tristan Stubbs (27 runs), David Miller (7 runs), Heinrich Klaasen (3 runs), and Marco Jansen (1 run) brought South Africa's total to 115. Nepal's bowlers, Kusal Bhurtel and Dipendra Singh Airee, shone with 4 and 3 wickets, respectively.

Chasing a target of 116 runs, Nepal started their innings with caution. The opening pair took the score to 35 before Kusal Bhurtel was clean-bowled by Tabraiz Shamsi, having scored 13 runs. Asif Sheikh led the batting with 43 runs, supported by Anil Sah with 27 runs.

Despite a promising start, Nepal's batting lineup faltered after losing three wickets, and they were unable to reach the target. South Africa's Tabraiz Shamsi delivered a stellar bowling performance, taking 4 wickets in his 4 overs. Anrich Nortje and Aiden Markram each contributed with one wicket.


South Africa: Quinton de Kock(w), Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram(c), Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Marco Jansen, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Ottneil Baartman, Tabraiz Shamsi

Nepal: Kushal Bhurtel, Aasif Sheikh(w), Anil Sah, Rohit Paudel(c), Kushal Malla, Dipendra Singh Airee, Gulsan Jha, Sompal Kami, Karan KC, Sandeep Lamichhane, Abinash Bohara